Book Review – Redeeming Love (Francine Rivers)

redeeming-love_francinerivers-com
Image credit: francinerivers.com

I’m well aware that Francine Rivers’ Redeeming Love does not need another review – the copy I read was the 20th Anniversary Edition – but I’m going to give you my take on this popular novel anyway.

This book came highly recommended. I’ve never read any of Francine Rivers’ books before, so thought I’d give it a try. The story left me feeling amazed and baffled at the same time, and made me wonder if people like this really do exist…

It tells the story of Sarah, a young girl living in California in the 1800s. She’s raised by her mother, and although her father visits (her mother, not her) from time to time, he shows no interest in Sarah.

When he tires of Mama, her whole world comes tumbling down. To make ends meet, she does what she has to… When she eventually dies, Mama’s friend Rab gives little Sarah, now eight, to a wealthy and powerful man called Duke. It’s not long before things start to go downhill for little Sarah.

“Whatever you want, mister.”

After many years with Duke, she becomes Angel, a strikingly beautiful and severely damaged prostitute. At Pair-a-Dice men give their gold dust for a few minutes with Angel. They use her, and she does what they tell her to. Her line, “whatever you want, mister”, is repeated throughout the book and thus almost becomes a mantra.

So when she meets Michael Hosea, Angel expects the same treatment from him. Why would he be any different? And when he turns out to be different, she is not prepared or equipped to deal with the unconditional love and unceasing forgiveness he shows her.

And that’s just a part of this incredible story.

As a Christian, Redeeming Love took me to a place of deep introspection. Michael’s ability to show continuous grace after being hurt time after time, left me dumbfounded and in awe. It’s a powerful book that shows the magnitude of God’s love to each person, regardless of who you are, what you’ve done, or where you’ve come from.

Read it and see for yourself.

 

One thought on “Book Review – Redeeming Love (Francine Rivers)

  1. This book is a great story and has a great message to us all. In fact, this book inspired me to write my own book. As a Christian, I love to share the Word of God. My book is part of a trilogy called Secrets of Versailles and the first book is called “Twiceborn”.
    Please read the sample chapter and email me your thoughts or any feedback you’d like to share.
    https://www.jprobinsonbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

