Film Review: Irrational Man – A Fitting Title for a Powerful Picture

I’m a bit of a late bloomer when it comes to discovering the brilliance that is Woody Allen. It wasn’t until a friend invited me to see Midnight in Paris that I completely fell in love with his mind – and who can blame me?

So when I paged through the file at Cinema Nouveau in the Waterfront (yes, it’s 2016 and they still have a physical file with info on the movies showing) and saw Irrational Man directed by Mr Allen himself, I was instantly intrigued. I’m so happy that my friend (a different friend, this time) decided to humour me.

Irrational Man_Sabrina Lantos_Sony Picture Classics

Photo credit: Sabrina Lantos_Sony Picture Classics

It’s a slow-paced film starring Joaquin Phoenix and the lovely Emma Stone. A relationship develops between a student (Stone) and her college professor (Phoenix), so up to this point, nothing new. But when the couple overhears a conversation among fellow patrons in a restaurant, things quickly start to unravel.

A surprising and intense twist shows the great lengths we as human beings would go to in order to survive. The ending is nail-biting.

If you can look past Joaquin Phoenix’s noticeable paunch and focus on the good (yet somewhat eccentric) storyline, you’ll enjoy this film.

It certainly gets my vote.

 

Leave a Reply

